Our Board

Meet the Halton Housing Board

We have nine members, three nominated from the Local Authority and six recruited and selected to ensure we have the right mix of experience to take Halton Housing forward. Each Board Member takes a lead responsibility for a key area of the business. The Board work together as a team to make decisions on a wide range of issues that contribute to the delivery of our vision.

Professor Clive Deadman

Group Board Chair

Clive has a background in Engineering and private equity, and he has held senior leadership roles for over 20 years in a range of utilities and infrastructure companies.  Clive brings extensive experience from within the social housing sector, the NHS, the Ombudsmen, and a range of other performance driven not-for-profit organisations.  As a Professor of Water & Energy at Cranfield University Clive lectures on how great organisations across the world have achieved frontier performance by balancing safety, customer service and environmental investment with financial objectives

Angela Holdsworth

Audit & Risk Committee Chair

Angela has significant Non-Exec experience in the housing sector.  She is an experienced business leader with over 30 years of successful delivery of high-profile business roles across a number of industries, including manufacturing and highly regulated service organisations.  Angela’s current role as director of Angelteccies includes providing product and processing support into the Wire & Cable Industry.  Angela has recently been appointed as Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee.

Linda Levin

Lead Member for Customer Experience

Linda is an experienced housing professional with a passion for tenant empowerment and building strong effective partnerships between landlords and tenants.  Linda is currently Director of Customer Services with Irwell Valley Homes.  Her housing career focus has been to listen to customers and work with them to achieve positive outcomes.

Kevin Williams


Kevin has 20 years' property development and management experience.  He is financially astute with a strong grasp of financial matters.  Kevin is currently Director of Asset & Growth Strategy at The Guinness Partnership, one of the Country’s largest HAs.  Kevin is responsible for the Guinness Footprint Strategy, providing strategic direction on focus areas for growth through development, acquisitions and strategic partnerships through to active Asset Management of a portfolio of over 65,000 homes across the Country.  Kevin leads teams responsible for a variety of property roles across a variety of tenure types.

Ian Hayhoe

Remuneration & Nominations Committee

Ian is well-known within the business community of Halton.  Ian brings over 25 years’ experience in the commercial and finance sectors to the Board of Halton Housing.  Ian is currently Head of Telesales and Retention Telefonica UK (O2 UK), a Director of Halton and Widnes Chamber of Commerce, Executive Chair of Halton Enterprises Ltd and Non-Executive Director of Asterius Ltd, a start-up Technology business.  Previously, Ian’s career has included a variety of senior leadership roles at Telefonica UK (O2 UK), and management roles at several banking and insurance companies including Marks and Spencer Financial Services and Standard Life.  Ian Chairs HH’s, Open Solutions UK Ltd, which invests in the PRS sector, the Build to Rent sector and which is currently developing sites for sale.  He is also a member of the Remuneration and Nominations Committee’

Matt Harrison

Lead Member for Development

Matt is CEO of a leading North West Housing provider.  Previously, Matt was Development Director at the same organisation and led on many iconic, award winning regeneration projects.  He is a Board member of the Sheffield Local Housing Company, Chairs the Greater Manchester RP Joint Venture, Hive Homes and leads on Development issues for the Greater Manchester Housing Providers.  Matt is also on the Board of the Sheffield City equivalent JV, Forge New Homes.  Matt has been involved with a Local Strategic Partnership, has been a PFI Company NED and has supported the NHF in a variety of ways, most recently as part of the Coronavirus CEO Recovery Steering Group.  Matt is well versed in the power of partnership working and supportive of collaborative work approaches.


Geoff Linnell

Lead Member for Digital

Geoff is a respected Chair and Non-Executive Director helping companies who need to take advantage of digital innovation to significantly improve service levels and/or optimise operational performance.  40 years’ experience of measurable success ensuring companies deliver more business value.  Gained a strong governance and risk management background with consensus stakeholder management through delivering a number of major business transformation programmes.  Geoff has a wide breadth of experience gained in many sectors including Social Housing, NHS, Care Services, Investment Banking, Wealth Management, Insurance and Consultancy.

Jennifer Halliday

Chair of the Remuneration and Nominations Committee

Jennifer has over 30 years of executive experience leading finance and risk teams operating in both manufacturing and financial services industries.  She is currently Finance Director at CF Fertilisers UK Ltd based in Ince, Chester.  She sits on the Advisory Board of the Alliance Manchester Business School and is Chair of the North West Productivity Forum, part of the Productivity Institute working with business and government with a focus a particular focus on education and skills.

Leigh Wylie

Board Member

Leigh is a Chartered Accountant and has held senior leadership roles for over 20 years across a range of large financial services organisations.  Leigh brings extensive experience in finance, risk management and audit, gained in a highly regulated sector.  Leigh’s current role as Head of Internal Audit within the Insurance sector includes providing oversight to the Board and Audit Committee in protecting the assets, reputation and sustainability of the organisation, as well as providing oversight and challenge to the leadership team.  Leigh brings a breadth of experience across financial, customer, regulatory and operational risks as well as transformation oversight.

Norman Plumpton Walsh

Board Member

Norman is a local authority nominee appointed to the board in 2021.  Norman's responsibilities on Halton Borough Council range from ward member for the town centre part of Runcorn, together with being Chair of Safer Halton Policy and Performance Board, a member of Cheshire Police and Crime Panel, and recently Runcorn Town Deal Board.  Outside of council, Norman has a masters’ degree in Public Policy and Management and works as a civil servant.

Marie Wright

Board Member

Marie is a Local Authority nominee, she is currently the Executive Board Member For Health and Well-being, she is also Chair of Halton’s Health and Well-being Board.  Marie has volunteered in the community for over 35 years helping to develop Credit Unions and Food Co-ops, she is passionate about all aspects of Housing, especially Homelessness and Tenant issues, she is a Trustee of Nightstop Communities North West.  She has worked as a Training Co-ordinator/Tenant Support Officer with young people in Homeless projects.  Marie was Chair of Halton Tenants Federation for 10 years.

Board meeting dates


Board meetings allow members and the Leadership Team to get together to discuss plans for the future, whilst reflecting on activities from the previous months. Meetings are closed to members only, but summary notes are subsequently published. See date of forthcoming board meetings in 2021 below.

  • 16th November

Board meeting summary notes


Board meetings are held every six weeks, and the published summaries of will be updated here after each meeting.